Ah, the revolution will not be televised,

after all. According to the Australian News:

THE unelected Governor-General of Canada agreed to order an unprecedented suspension of parliament yesterday to save the Conservative minority Government from almost certain defeat in a no-confidence vote.

Newly re-elected Prime Minister Stephen Harper persuaded Governor-General Michaelle Jean to shut the House of Commons until January 26, in a political storm that has echoes of Australia’s constitutional crisis in 1975.

Oh well. Maybe next time.

11 Comments

  1. tim
    Posted December 8, 2008 at 5:15 pm | Permalink

    you’re very zen, you know.

  2. Posted December 8, 2008 at 10:58 pm | Permalink

    It’s not Zen, I’m afraid. It’s boredom mixed with pessimism and cynicism, and recently I detect a touch of nihilism as well. But enough about me, what is your life philosophy summed up in one sentence? Something having to do with ‘freedom’, right?

  3. Posted December 9, 2008 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    hey the Canadian government seems to be learning from the Indian government! too bad there were no wads of cash waved around on live tv. that would have capped it all and made damn sure it WAS televised.

  4. tim
    Posted December 9, 2008 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    I think freedom is important, but if I need an overarching concept for my philosophy it is respect of life.

    The first step in respecting life is realizing it’s power. Humans are the product of millions of years of refining of a system to spread life. It’s important to see our history to get an idea of the potential actions of life especially the negative. Let’s just say that some crazy shit has happened. So you gotta respect that other life forms will as easily doom you as say ‘hi’. That’s the negative side of respect.

    Positive respect is just good policy. Freedom for example, is just a good way to foster constructive actions instead of destructive.

    A good example is Switzerland (and other countries) where everyone has military grade weapons, but low gun crime. It’s all based in respect, of the bad guys and of your neighbors. (and their guns)

    And finally, that was the most zen ass question I have ever been asked.

  5. Posted December 9, 2008 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    Are you talking about human life or any life?

    I’m not too crazy about the humans, but I remember when I was a kid I once witnessed a bus running over a snake crawling across the road. It made a popping sound and I got shocked, completely terrified, traumatized. The most terrifying episode in my life so far.

  6. tim
    Posted December 10, 2008 at 1:11 am | Permalink

    I like to say that my favorite thing is human ingenuity and my least favorite is human frailty.

    Thinking big picture I don’t separate human life from other. I just look at human life as the most sophisticated form.

  7. Posted December 10, 2008 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    Primates in general are OK, but most of the humans are victims of some weird mutation that makes their brains malfunction. Retards are nice, I used to work at a department of mental retardation, but the rest of them are sick. Vonnegut was right, too much is going on in their brains, too much unnecessary activity.

    I guess that’s pretty much the opposite of what you feel. Sorry.

  8. tim
    Posted December 10, 2008 at 9:00 pm | Permalink

    I don’t know any retarded people, but my cousin works with them.

    I understand that people do stupid stuff, but you kind of have to take the good with the bad. The potential is there for things like the holocaust, but also lots of potential cool stuff. I mean our brains give us infinite possibilities. I’ll never be able to to all the cool stuff I want to, that my brain wants to try out. How can you say it’s unnecessary activity when we get things like computers and space ships?

    I won’t sugar coat it, my brain has caused me more pain than any one else could come close to, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I mean I have the power to create. That’s the power that people say God has.

    I guess it comes down to the old Spiderman wisdom- with great power comes great responsibility. Teaching respect helps people to use their power in responsible ways. I suppose it’s humanities curse to have to deal with the great power good and bad unleashed by our minds.

  9. Posted December 10, 2008 at 10:00 pm | Permalink

    I don’t think a human brain will ever be able to create anything remotely approaching the brain of a chimpanzee or even a cat. So what’s the point?

  10. tim
    Posted December 11, 2008 at 3:58 am | Permalink

    poppycock– http://robotfindskitten.org

    jokes aside be careful– if tthat statement isn’t already not true it still sounds a lot like saying that everything that could ever be invented has been.

    And the point is it’s fun.

  11. Posted December 12, 2008 at 12:17 am | Permalink

    Fun is good, but anything can be fun. Farting can be fun.


Post a Comment

